Possible long-range effects?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seacowboys, Sep 10, 2005.

1. Seacowboys

Seacowboys Senior Member Founding Member

Where is this going? New Orleans is the port where all (not most, all) of our grains from the mid-west are loaded and transported overseas. How is this going to effect the already struggling farm industry? Who is going to hurt most? I'm no rocket scientist, but this appears to be a major serious problem that no-one is mentioning yet; should we just close our eyes and wait for it to bite us on the ass?
    New Orleans is one of the busiest ports in the world and probably, world-wide, the single most important one and it is closed indifinately. I'm hearing projections of maybe two years before it returns to full operations. Friends, I'm not scared of the devil, but this is starting make me cringe.

2. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

I'm with you SC.

This is far from over and If possible, I'd round out that long-term shopping list.

3. CRC

CRC Survivor of Tidal Waves | RIP 7-24-2015 Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I already thought of that...Coming from Charleston, SC originally...we had a huge port there and very busy...I knew NO rivaled it and beat it...I am wondering if they are going to reroute everything now , right away...???

We have a pretty busy port here too...

and this is going to sound ridiculous..but I don't care...I love Hot Sauce and tobasco...specifically the one that comes from New Iberia , LA...I went and bought a few bottles the day after the storm..... :oops:

Just didn't want to run out.... :rolleyes:

4. nope

nope Monkey+++ Founding Member

We were just talking about this today. It is very scarry to imagine how much of an impact this will have on all of us besides fuel. I think the economy was slow already despite reports it was growing and this will bring it to a halt I am afraid.