TOR Q and A with An East African Human Rights Activist

Discussion in 'TOR | TAILS' started by survivalmonkey, Apr 5, 2016.

1. survivalmonkey

survivalmonkey Monkey+++

Can you tell us about your work?

I'm from East Africa. My background is in political science and I focus on the idea that consent in political systems helps build stability. I've been thinking about how to help communities circumvent or push back against information controls. When whistleblowers talk about corruption, there should be safe avenues of sharing that information without threatening their lives or their families.

How did you learn about Tor?

I didn't know that a web site could be blocked--I thought it was a problem with my computer--but then I saw in the comments section of a subreddit on Africa--it's mostly political--that some people could access a political web site. You want to know how they do it--you don't want to ask right there on reddit--so you research "access" "blocked" "website" as the key words.

This took me to Wikipedia and the article about circumvention tools. Then I learned about the routing through different servers to hide the source of a request.

I downloaded and installed Tor and it is slow--I thought it was a problem with my connection. But it worked! I could access websites that I could not access otherwise. Ethsat was blocked--a political and alternative media site that critiques the Ethiopian government and publishes info that is critical of government corruption.