question about costco/same's club memberships

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by jash, Jun 2, 2007.

1. jash

jash Monkey+++

Hello all,

I am new to all of this, but want to become prepared for an emergency situation, and have been stocking up on supplies for a few months now (it only took me and a few years and Jericho to convince my better half!). Is a Sam's Club/Costco membership worth it? I would only be able to get to one of those stores 2-4 times a year. I heard that if you do not go often enough they will revoke your membership and make you re-up. Is this true? And are the prices good enough to warrant purchasing a membership? I will greatly appreciate any advice.

2. NVBeav

NVBeav Monkey+++

This is just my humble opinion: it depends on what you need or buy at Costco/Sam'sClub to make it worthwhile. If you have a list of items that you will buy and the amount is over what you will save (factoring in the yearly membership fee), then go for it. Also note that they have on-line shopping too.

There was a book from James Rawles (from SurvivalBlog.com) that discussed a shopping trip through Costco. It's a dialog between JR and another guy discussing the pros and cons of many different items in several sections of the store. There is some great info there...

3. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

I have had a Sams membership through one business or other for the past 8 yrs. I'm not a huge fan of Sams in 95% of my shopping trips.