Quick question about off grid in TN

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by BailyTheFox, Dec 30, 2018.

1. BailyTheFox

BailyTheFox Monkey+

Hello all long time no see :) I just had a quick question about what the rules in Tennessee are regarding being off the electrical grid. My fiance and I (getting married late next summer) are both interested in the possibility of having solar panels and a little wind turbine on our future (still far future lol) property when we move to TN. I know some states have bullshit laws that make it basically impossible (like FL) but I'm not sure if TN is much the same.

2. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

Hey kiddo, long time no see! I dont know about the State, I would check the local counties your looking at, some times it's a county reg, not a state!

3. oil pan 4

oil pan 4 Monkey+++

Concentrate on getting solar panels, forget about wind unless you have a really great wind location to put up a wind turbine.
    I have an associates degree in wind power generation. I would know if the money for a wind turbine would be better spent on solar panels.

If TN is AEP they might have some stupid rules against going off grid.

What are you doing, what all are you trying to power?
    Be prepared to get a gasoline powered generator rig, a serious one not harbor freight junk. My next generator will probably be a diesel powered construction site flood light set.

Ura-Ki, Gator 45/70 and sec_monkey like this.
  4. Dont

Dont Just another old gray Jarhead Monkey

Hey Baily!! Nice to see you again.. @TnAndy is the resident Monkey for that area and he would probably fill you in about Tennessee regulations..

5. TnAndy

TnAndy Senior Member Founding Member

No regulations I know of require you have power, assuming you stay out of the cities. I did an off grid site install for a buddy. Very top of a ridge, and even he didn't have a good wind site, so as Oil Pan said, concentrate on solar.

6. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++