Quiz:

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by magnus392, Oct 31, 2005.

1. magnus392

magnus392 Field Marshall Mags Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Do you know the difference in machine guns you can own, and the ones you can't? :D

2. monkeyman

monkeyman Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Where you live and if you have the money and record to get the stamps for them. Other than that I know there is a technical difference why you can own like a gatlin gun but without special papers not a full auto uzi. So whats the anwser you had in mind, since Im by no means an expert on this?

3. magnus392

Well you have to find what is classified as a Pre-86 Transferable weapon (receiver). That is part of the reason they are so expensive. IN '86 the Gub'ment decieded that no more machine guns would be made for us mere mortals. All of the legal existing ones where grandfathered, and became goldmines.

4. monkeyman

Which is kind of silly since a file will turn most semi autos into an auto for a few minutes of time if its a person wanting it for illegal purposes and if the person is detered by the law saying they cant have one then they would be detered by the laws saying they cant use it for criminal activity anyhow.

5. magnus392

Very true, but for some reason as with most things the gub'ment thinks it must regulate the law-abiding masses, lol.

Anyway, my post was just incase someone was wondering why they couldn't go out and buy a new MG, or was wondering why MG's are so expensive.

Now you can rent (at Class III) Dealers MG's on thier ranges, or if you know an 07FFL with a Class III liscense you can sometimes go out with them and shoot a new MG.

6. monkeyman

You can also use things like a hellfire spring in most areas and while I havent looked into it much as I understand it triburst guns are legal.

7. magnus392

A Triple burst is by definition an MG and therefore illegal with out proper paperwork.