Secure USB Storage Devices - Updated for 2015

Discussion in 'Technical' started by DarkLight, Aug 7, 2015.

1. DarkLight

DarkLight Live Long and Prosper - On Hiatus

I originally posted a thread about this a couple of years ago and felt it could use an update. The original thread is here: Secure USB Storage Devices - Updated for 2013 | Survival Forums

I have been using the original Aegis Secure Key for a couple of years now and wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one...well I wouldn't have until now. Recently Apricorn released the Aegis Secure Key 3.0...and I like it, a LOT.

The original Secure Key was a USB 2.0 device that was, well it was slow, even by USB 2.0 standards. It worked flawlessly but the on-the-fly encryption takes time and slows things down. Now there is a USB 3.0 version and it's all I was hoping it would be.

The Secure Key 3.0 is still slower than an unencrypted thumb drive but still very fast. It sports the same style of keypad as the original, but there are a few new features, and they are pretty slick.

First there is the "self-destruct" code. Unlike the original, you can configure a self-destruct code that destroys the private key rendering all data useless and wipes the device...immediately. It appears to be unlocked, just like normal with no indication that you have nuked the data. When you plug it in you are presented with an unpartitioned, unformatted drive.

Next is the ability to have multiple levels of access. Admin, user and read-only users. Kind of cool but I don't know if I'll be using that.

Next is the ability to survive a re-enumeration of the USB port (for booting, etc) as long as power isn't lost. If power is lost, it behaves as though it was unplugged and immediately locks itself.

The Secure Key 3.0 comes in 30, 60, 120 and 240 GB capacities. I have the 30 GB.