Signals kit

Discussion in 'Survival Communications' started by damoc, Jan 21, 2020.

1. damoc

damoc Monkey+++

This is my BOB signals kit. Part of location in survival priorities.I missed out on having a sextant what else did I miss? Who else has a Signals/NAV kit.

2. damoc

damoc Monkey+++

UncleMorgan and Dunerunner like this.
  3. Dunerunner

Dunerunner Brewery Monkey Moderator

My BoB has a signal mirror, whistle, flares, compass, maps, and a radio (Rx only for now).

Tully Mars, UncleMorgan and damoc like this.
  4. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

As a Pilot, I have plenty of tools and coms with me at all times! SpotX times 2 ( one stays in the plane, one goes with me), sat phone, two cell phones, Signal mirror, laser pointers, high lumin flashlight with strobe, Sat-Nav enabled ipad touch, flares and launcher, whistles, and a pare ( at least) of pistols! And that's just the kit for the plane! I always pack my long range Get Home Bag with me, which is detailed elsewhere here in the forums!

5. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

Here in Alaska, our SAR folks are under the direction of our State Troopers, and Transport in the bush is USCG Choppers if at Sea or near Sea, and US Army Chopper if on Land, or in the interior... All these Choppers are Night SAR capable, and one VERY IMPORTANT piece of gear in your kit, around here, would be an IR Strobe, like used by US SpecOps folks, when an overhead drone is in use... Makes a lost human stick out like a “ Very Sore Thumb”... in almost ANY Weather... even better than a fire, or just about any other locating system...

Dunerunner, Tully Mars, SB21 and 8 others like this.
  6. Altoidfishfins

Altoidfishfins Monkey+++ Site Supporter+

I lived in Elko for about 15 years and used to camp, hunt, and pan for gold in the area where that unfortunate fellow mentioned in the article was found.