1. We are sorrowed to report that one of the Founding Members has passed on. Dee (Righthand) is well remembered as contributing much to the operation of SurvivalMonkey, and is already greatly missed. Little lady, big person.

Slingshot shooting fun

Discussion in 'Turf and Surf Hunting and Fishing' started by Bishop, Apr 30, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Bishop

Bishop Monkey+++

Sling Shot shooting

2. Motomom34

Motomom34 Monkey+++

Are shooting marbles? I have become addicted to the TV show Z Nation. One of the guys shoots a sling shot. The character occasionally shoots little black disks, like a thick black metal coin. I know it is TV but for using a sling shot as a weapon, what would you use for the projectile? Maybe you have said and I forgot but since watching the TV show and seeing how well you can hunt with yours; I have been thinking more and more that it really can be a weapon. Yes, I need to really get practicing, I am still a novice.

**PS great dog.

Sgt Nambu and UncleMorgan like this.
  3. UncleMorgan

UncleMorgan I eat vegetables. My friends are not vegetables.

Plain ole' lead fishing sinkers work very well for slingshots. They have the sectional density to carry well and pack a punch.
    Steel ball bearings are almost as good, and a little more eco-friendly.
    Marbles are fun, and they work well for small game. I just hate it when I miss and they shatter against a rock.
    For taking out sentries, though, depleted Uranium is my all-around favorite, when I can get it...

4. Bishop

Bishop Monkey+++

I shoot marbles a lot but hex nuts rocks lead 36 Cal to 50 Cal clay balls hex nuts with lead center arrow darts washer glued together jaw breakers the arrow s and darts are lethal a marble will shatter a finger bone with ease 40 Cal lead will cave in a deer skull at 15 yards

Dunerunner and Motomom34 like this.
  5. apache235

apache235 Monkey+++

Got a bunch of .44 cal lead bullets that seem to work well.

Dunerunner likes this.
  6. arleigh