Solar Panel Disruption

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by my_honey, Jul 30, 2009.

1. my_honey

my_honey Monkey++

Hi I'm wondering if anyone has the answer to this:
    If you have solar panels and there happens to be a "purposeful" EMP detonation, would it wipe out your solar power system?
    Would that sort of EMP wipe out any kind of power system you had?
    Thanks

2. kckndrgn

kckndrgn Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I'm not an expert, and may be wrong but like the president I'll answer anyway and give my 2cents.

The panels themselves may not be effected, but the electronics associated with charging batteries and power distribution I would suspect would be fried.

I may be wrong, dunno.

3. Brokor

Brokor Live Free or Cry Moderator Site Supporter+++ Founding Member

Anything with a circuit board and transistors or other sensitive electronics should be enclosed in a Faraday Cage and grounded. As for the panels....I doubt they would be effected, but I could be wrong.

4. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

I seriously doubt that the panels would be affected, depending on the actual circuitry on the panels themselves...(hard wired = no.)
    The rest of the system: like invertors with any transistors, or any sensitive electronics would be devastated/fried (instantaneously).
    It's a lot like a sudden shock that has little amperage, but a whole lot of voltage....(like you get from carpets or car seats at one time), that's why in electronics they wear those anti-static bracelets and anklets to dissipate any build up of static charges before they touch any circuit boards, semiconductors, etc.
    You can seal a lot of (smaller) sensitive electronics in those MIL-SPEC mylar foil looking (stainless steel) sealable bags....But, they also need to be placed into a "grounded" Farady cage for the ultimate protection.