Square Foot Gardening....Anyone Else?

Discussion in 'The Green Patch' started by ylisa7, May 12, 2011.

1. ylisa7

ylisa7 Monkey+

I am fairly new to gardening. I started my first garden 3 years ago. After researching I decided to try a square foot garden. The main reason was for simplicity. I didn't want a complicated garden or I might have given up. So here I am 3 years later and I have expanded my square foot garden.

The concept behind a square foot garden is to plant everything in 1 square foot sections(using grids) in a raised garden bed using a special soil mix to prevent weeds. It is small concept gardening.

I have 2 gardens. One is 4x11 feet and the other 4x14 feet. I have a total of 99 squares to plant my goodies. It is still early in the season but so far I have planted spinach, lettuce, onions, and peas...which are already in. Today I planted pole beans, some bush beans, one yellow squash plant and two zucchini plants.

This is what it looks like now. Soon it will look like a jungle:)
    [​IMG]

Please share any of your gardening experiences and tips:)

skyking likes this.
  2. Falcon15

Falcon15 Falco Peregrinus

A few questions:
    First: Is that "Mels mix" or is that potting soil?
    Second: Are you planning the trellis net to support vine growths?
    Third: Three grids in your foreground look to be 2' x 1". Is that intentional or did one of your grid strings break?
    Fourth: Did you put weed cloth down under the boxes?