Stretching, it's important

Discussion in 'Survival of the Fittest' started by Rocky Road Lerp, Nov 3, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Rocky Road Lerp

Rocky Road Lerp Monkey+++

Old, young, middle-aged like me, stretching should be incorporated in your life. No matter what kind of shape you're in, a commitment to stretching will help your body and your mind. I recently started training after an injury hiatus, and wasn't surprised at my loss of mobility. I was pleasantly shocked at how good I "feel" after getting through the first couple weeks. You can find any way you want to stretch with yoga, Pilates, martial arts(my choice), you just have to make it routine and get through the soreness. Good luck, and feel better.

Stretching: Focus on flexibility - Mayo Clinic

2. Ganado

Ganado Monkey+++

oryou can do tai chi with @Hanzo ;)

3. Sonofason

Sonofason Monkey

Excellent point. Stretching and proper hydration(if possible) are hugely undervalued in my opinion. Learned quite a few tips from the link. Thanks bud

4. Rocky Road Lerp

It's a start(y)

Gator 45/70 and Ganado like this.
  5. UncleMorgan

UncleMorgan I like peeling bananas and (occasionally) people.

Stretching is vital. What good is strength or speed, if you don't have any range of motion?
    One thing I picked up over the years is not to bounce a stretch. That triggers a defensive reflex that tightens the ligaments for a while. One long slow stretch held for a count of six or longer works much better. Then relax & repeat.

techsar, Gator 45/70 and Ganado like this.
  6. Hanzo

Hanzo Monkey+++

For soccer and martial arts, it's warm up, dynamic stretching first then static stretching.

7. Rocky Road Lerp