Stuck or snapped bolt

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Motomom34, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Motomom34

Motomom34 Monkey+++

We are becoming self-taught mechanics in our home. We had a stuck bolt last night and last week there was a snapped bolt. These both happened on our older Jeep. Prior to snapping the bolt off, a guaranteed to loosen type substance like W-40 was used. It didn't work. The fix was complete but the bolt is still in there. Someone I spoke to mentioned heat but when working on autos, one needs to use extreme caution. I am looking for how to advice and/or good bolt loosening products.

2. Dont

Dont Just another old gray Jarhead Monkey

Aerokroil.. Best penetration oil there is but hard to find and is 19 or 20 dollars a can.

Google Deal

3. Lancer

Lancer TANSTAFL! Site Supporter+++

Heat, used judiciously, can be very helpful. When confronted with a bolt that I'm leery of I'll heat it with a torch or a heat gun. With either you need to be careful of the surround objects - rubber, plastic, wiring, etc are all susceptible to heat damage. Move/remove such items before using heat! Once I get the bolt good and hot, (not glowing, that will change the tempering of the bolt possibly weakening it), I'll saturate it will penetrating oil of some kind while it cools. The change in temperature will help wick the oil down along the threads. A really rusty or seized bolt may need several repeats. If worst occurs and it snaps you still have options: none especially fun. If there's a significant stub sticking out you can try with vice grips, or saw/file a slot in it to try a large screw driver. If it's flush or below the surface you can drill it and use easy-outs, (praying they don't snap), or just drill it to size and re-tap it. If the piece can be removed to a bench you're always better off doing so, especially if you have to drill it. You might also be able to get it to a machine shop and let them deal with it.