The pig barn.

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by Thunder5Ranch, Oct 1, 2019.

1. Thunder5Ranch

Thunder5Ranch Monkey+++

Back in 2012 I got a wild hair to mill the oak lumber and put together a new multi purpose pig barn. I had been collecting nursery panels for a few years and wanted to build a farrowing system that had large comfortable stall for the sows and piglets that after a couple of weeks could be opened up for them to all mingle together. With a decent size lot out the side and and gate that opened onto a 5 acres pasture on the back.

Oak is difficult to work with when building structures. Nails are pretty much a non starter and forget a nail gun. Jointing, Pegs, pilot holes and screws are the order of the day when building with oak. Very time consuming but the end product is a very tough, rot resistant structure the even hogs can't tear up.

on half of the barn floor I laid out old soft foot hog floors that I got from a confinement that upgraded to more modern floors. Mine just lay on the surface and over the years have gotten buried under a few inches of dirt. What they do is stop the hogs from rooting out the dirt in the floor. On the other half I used nothing on the surface just hard packed clay. Every two years I have to clean out the water way that leads away from the barn and put all of the dirt back in that the hogs root out of that side that is just clay. After two years they root about 12" of the clay out of the barns East floor. Easy enough to replace, I just take some of the roof tin off and dump the clay from the waterway through the roof opening and screw the tin back on the roof. The hogs take about a week to get that big mound of dirt leveled out and compacted for another two years.