wind power

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by evilgijoe88, Feb 4, 2008.

1. evilgijoe88

evilgijoe88 Monkey+++

http://www.bergey.com/
    ive been looking at these quite a bit lately along with trying to get land off of dirtcheapdirt.com im thinking the wind power, maybe a few smaller solar cells(3-400 watts total) and woodburning heat and a stove. but i have no hands on experience with these things. let me know if that site is even worth it.

2. Blackjack

Blackjack Monkey+++

We've got a resident wind power expert that I'm sure will chime in.... It's either EL or Quigley, I can't remember which.

3. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

In very rough terms, you are looking at 3000frns per kw installed for the Bergey machines. (New commercial power plants run close to 2000frns per installed kw last I looked.) You'll need to run a life cycle cost analysis to figure out the payback if that is a concern. It'll take a while, trust me. However, once you have it installed, the upkeep should not be onerous. The thing about the Bergey machines is that the optimal size for what you are looking for isn't there in a single machine. I'd say a household living frugally (powerly speaking, of course) should be looking in the 2.5 to 5 kw sized units, which puts you in multiple smaller machines. Way more than you need for steady running, but wind is fickle (and your load is variable) and you'll want to be able to recharge your batteries. Additionally, with more than one machine, you'll have partial backup in the event of a glitch. Between solar and wind, you can probably do quite well off grid. (Especially in eastern WA.)