Communications options

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by fortunateson, Jan 30, 2010.

1. fortunateson

fortunateson I hate Illinois Nazis!

Looking at a scenario where TV is down, Phone lines are down, Cell phones are out and Internet is kaput, what other options are available to communicate long distances?

Here are some of my thoughts:

1. Shortwave - I have no experience with this whatsoever. What are the best options (least expensive, longest distance) to break into this field?

2. CB radio - ok, I have a $35 job I got a WallyWorld. Good for about 2 miles on a clear day.

3. CB radio w/ linear amp. Highly illegal, but easily obtainable on Ebay. And hey , in a TEOTWAWKI sit., the feds will have other priorities right? I'd like to hear about any experiences in this area.

4. Sat phones? - Again no experience and how much ground support do these need? Will the network survive?

5. Smoke signals, mirrors - dunno - any other ideas?

2. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

1) shortwave, 6 meter, and my choice: 10 meter...
    Reason for my choice: I can use the larger CB base station antennas (11 meter) I already have with 10 meter and not need any adjustments, beyond checking my SWR and RF readings...
    2) Depending on your CB unit, and your antenna, you'd be surprised at how far you can reach! ( without linear or bi-linear units).
    3) "some" I have talked with have chosen what they consider to be the ultimate radio in their "book", so to speak...Marine UHF/VHF types. Which are quite illegal and may only be used in off shore or the ONLY inshore lake allowed: Great Lakes regions. ( but who knows what we may see!)
    4) I do not expect to be able to use the sat types, due to even if they did survive, the "traffic" would be exponentially far worse than what took place on 9/11.
    5) All of the above? Mirrors, IF you know and can use morse code.
    imho.

3. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

BTW: