Emergency Car Kits

Discussion in 'Blogs' started by The Expendable, Jun 21, 2009.

1. The Expendable

The Expendable Bread and Circus Master

As most of you know, I'm a relative newbie to prepping. I have been interested in it for a long time, but didn't do anything about it until recently. I was always prepared for a hurricane or a short term problem, but nothing more. What pushed me to get serious about prepping was listening to Neal Boortz talk about the book One Second After. Once I read the book earlier this year, I really saw the need to start stockpiling.

According to the book, modern cars will be inoperative after an EMP burst. I have since done a little more research into the technical aspects of the EMP phenomenon, and I have found that many cars will be able to withstand a burst with only minor damage. Still, since an attack of this sort is unprecedented, I feel it's a good idea to prepare your vehicles just in case it is disabled far from home.

I have made emergency car kits for my family members. I know that a typical emergency kit might have granola bars and fire making supplies and portable stoves. When I made these kits I came at it from a different point of view. I thought about my mother, who is 69 years old. She has never gone on a survival campout, and probably never will. It didn't make sense to supply her with the same gear that I would carry. She needs the basic supplies that can sustain her until someone can find her, or possibly walk 10 or 15 miles to her home. The pack had to be considerably lighter for her than one I would carry. It might be two or three days before she could be rescued, so the contents would have to last at least that long.