Food Storage - When No Power?

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by Survival 101, Jul 25, 2012.

1. Survival 101

Survival 101 Monkey

I apologize if this is posted in the wrong forum, I am a newbie!;)

I have been reading all kinds of info and watching all kinds of videos to help me get on my way to a food storage back up. Here is my question though. So your storing up food and supplies for when SHTF, when power supply will go to name one thing, so what do you do with all your stored goods if you live in a very hot climate? Won't everything spoil?

Appreciate all answers.

2. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

If you don't have backup power, then you use Storage Methods that require NO Power.... Smoked, Salted, Canned, etc... and you have a "Cool Room" Root Cellar, Pantry, Basement, to store your Preps in.

3. Survival 101

Survival 101 Monkey

Thanks for getting back to me. I live in a top floor condo in a high heat location. I don't really have any "cool" rooms, other than when we have the a/c going or its winter. What is the max temp that stored food, canning, salted, smoked can handle?

4. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

As I live n the bush of Alaska... that is not my area of expertise.... I am sure some other Monkeys will be along shortly to give some Good Solid answers to that question.....

Survival 101 likes this.
  5. TheEconomist

TheEconomist Creighton Bluejay

smoked, canned, salted, brined, or dried meats would stay. Being in the location that you are you need to keep rotating out your rations quickly as in the type of environment that you have described most of your preps will not last very long.

However, if you went more towards MRE's, dry foods, cereals, grains, etc. You might be in better shape.

Survival 101 likes this.
  6. Survival 101

Survival 101 Monkey