Galt's Retreat

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by Xanatosnemos, Dec 1, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xanatosnemos

Xanatosnemos Monkey

Who I am
    Greetings, my name is Dustin and I am 29 years of age. I'm currently a lifelong resident of central North Carolina. I grew up without being taught many of the things a man needs to succeed in life, and from an early age I took an interest in things like economics and finance, investments, technology, animals and philosophy (as well as a fair bit of videogaming!) I was always very interested in being self sufficient, and at an early age I began to explore these interests with the support of my grandparents. I ordered 100+ chicks from Mcmurray Hatchery and learned Chickens the hard way and had a blast doing it. I grew up comfortable with tools and with working with my hands to solve problems thanks to my grandfather, his wood shop, and his career as a master wood crafter and furniture maker. While I sadly didn't pick up the finer points of making beautiful things, I did learn much. As I grew older and moved into the world of business and entrepreneurism I always felt something was lacking in my life. It seemed everything was about tomorrow. Putting off todays pleasure for tomorrows gain became second hand to me and I became very good at resisting the temptation to go and do or buy the things I wanted. Instead I built up a sizable real estate portfolio and retired at 27. FINALLY I get to do what I want! Turns out, that wasn't meant to be and my portfolio was lost due to criminal activity by my mentor and managing partner. After soul searching last winter I realized that If I wanted to truly find happiness, I needed to be happy with where I was and not just with where I was heading. I needed to surround myself with good quality people of virtue and character for companionship. I needed to have land in order to continue enjoying the little back yard projects I tend to throw myself into. I n