Help With Fruit Trees

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by Seacowboys, Jun 6, 2010.

1. Seacowboys

Seacowboys Senior Member Founding Member

I have several apple trees that are about five years old. They are very healthy and covered in fruit but the apples are very small and not much juice or flavor. These are Fuji and other large varietals that generally do well in this region. I also have a couple of pear trees the same age, very healthy but have yet to produce a single fruit. What am I doing wrong here?

2. Tracy

Tracy Insatiably Curious Moderator Founding Member

I'm no expert, but I've had apple trees. Are you thinning out the fruit when they're very small? That will allow the remaining fruits to be larger and to benefit from the tree's nutrients.

3. tacmotusn

tacmotusn RIP 1/13/21

no expert here either. in fact i have probably killed more fruit trees with good intentions than george did with his axe. is fuji a self polinated variety. i suspect it is. now, how about the pear tree variety. and then there is the situation with the scarcity of bees.... polinators... just wondering .....
    added additional thoughts... reread your question, two pear trees, i am guessing different varieties one a polinator one not.... that puts it back in the bees ball park as a possible problem. but, next year when the pear trees are flowering you can hand polinate one pear tree with flowers from the other and vice versa. this will allow you to thin some of the flowers, thus allowing for larger fruit as well.... other than that i got no other ideas

4. Ancesthntr

Ancesthntr Monkey+

Don't know much about apple trees as such, so I can't really help. Maybe visit your county agricultural extension office or give them a call.

5. ISplatU

ISplatU Monkey+

Are you pruning the trees, and getting rid of the sap suckers?

6. mpq2346

mpq2346 Monkey+