History of CAD and a tool to use forever,

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by HK_User, Dec 5, 2017.

1. HK_User

HK_User A Productive Monkey is a Happy Monkey

2. yeti695

yeti695 Monkey+

This is cool, I have been a CAD operator for about 20 years. Thanks, when I get more time I will read this.

3. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

I started in CAD way back with the Original Macintosh, using a Product called "Claris CADD" written by Apple... Had an Apple Pen Plotter, to print out my Drawings... Then Claris got sued for using code from Ashlar in the App, and lost in court, and part of the Settlement was Claris had to stop marketing their App, and Ashlar had to make their Program "Vellum" available for a small Fee to Customers who had Claris CADD.... I chose to do that UpGrade, and have continued with Ashlar Vellum ever since. It is a Top Notch CADD App, and i still use it today... All of the Drawings I have posted here, on the Monkey, were done in Vellum. I do a lot of Plat Mapping and Survey minipulations, and once I get a Plat Map into Velum, it is easy to manipulate the Data and precisely locate corners and Survey Points... I first learned Mechanical Drawing in 8th Grade, in a Jr High School Class... Hooked on it ever since...

Tully Mars likes this.
  4. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

I learned and use Auto Cad II for all machining and 3D printing! Super easy to use and set up, and easy to import to the tool station when ready!

Tully Mars likes this.
  5. 3M-TA3

3M-TA3 Cold Wet Monkey

Very nice - it made me recall reading "Soul of a New Machine" way back when

6. RightHand

RightHand Been There, Done That RIP 4/15/21 Moderator Moderator Emeritus Founding Member