Most common cause of house fires that you can't put out

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by oil pan 4, Aug 17, 2018.

1. oil pan 4

oil pan 4 Monkey+++

And we likely all do it.
    I would also extend this to something you probably shouldn't do before going to sleep.

A leading cause of house fires is people leaving their clothes dryers running when they are not home and the damn thing catches on fire while you are away.
    And you can't put it out of you're not home.
    This kind of falls in line with the personal shtf stuff I'm always talking about.

I have some experience with this. Right before my last trip to Afghanistan in 2016 I dragged the clothes dryer out side. Pulled the back cover off it so I could blast out all the lint with compressed air. Which I have done before.
    We got this dryer in 2010 and I had cleaned it before at least 2 other times. Last time was probably 2014.
    Well upon removal of the back cover I found some of the lint in the bottom had caught on fire fairly recently from right near the heater coil air intake. This little fire burned it self out for what ever reason.
    So I haven't put a whole lot of faith in them since.

Apparently this is not an isolated incident.

Possible counter measures.
    Put a smoke detector above the dryer or in your laundry room.
    Locate the dryer outside.
    If you go to the store turn it off.
    Don't dry the laundry right before you go to sleep.

Brokor, Mountainman, Ura-Ki and 10 others like this.
  2. duane

duane Monkey+++