My first BOBs

Discussion in 'General Survival and Preparedness' started by Jeff Brackett, Jun 17, 2012.

1. Jeff Brackett

Jeff Brackett Monkey+++

It's my first attempt at a BOB. Here's what I've done. The bag itself is a Maxpedition Vulture II.
    Assembled-B.

I started out with a standard goal of three-day self-sufficiency. It didn't take me long to figure out that there was no way a person can plan for every emergency in a single kit. So I began to think in terms of kits within my kit.

My most important requirement would be food and water. So I created a food and water kit to go in my BOB. Food-B. This "food kit" has the following:
    1. Mess kit.
    2. Datrex emergency bars.
    3. coffee filters.
    4. Water purification tablets
    5. Fishing kit.

There is also a Hydrapak three-liter hydration bladder in the BOB. This kit should allow me to filter and boil water, and/or purify with the tablets. Datrex bars will serve if food is immediately required, and fishing kit should come in handy if time and environment permits. Additionally, part of the fishing kit is a spool of sixty pound line that can be used for small animal snares.

Second kit is my "shelter kit".
    Shelter-B.

This kit currently contains:

1. Extra socks, underwear, t-shirt.
    2. Heavy-duty rain pancho.
    3. two rolls of 100 ft mil-spec paracord.
    4. sewing kit.
    5. 48" Sabercut chain saw.
    6. SOG Tactical 'Hawk
    7. Cold Steel GI Tanto.
    8. Toilet paper.

Extra clothing is self explanatory. The other materials can be used to make anything from a paracord and pancho emergency rain shelter, to using the knife,'hawk, or saw to cut wood for a sturdier shelter. Toilet paper and sewing kit just didn't seem to fit in my reasoning behind any of the other mini kits.

Third kit is First Aid.
    FAK-B.

1. Adventure Medical .9 Kit in watertight container
    2. Voodoo Tactical's emergency surgical kit.
    3. Additional bandages, pills, vitamins, wraps, etc. inplastic hardcase.