OPSEC Antenna

Discussion in 'Survival Communications' started by tekdoggy, Sep 6, 2014.

1. tekdoggy

tekdoggy Monkey

I am new to HAM and will be taking my tests this tuesday. BTPost and other monkeys have helping me getting orientated and recommendations on radio equipment. I have a good idea of what base station i am looking for now to get started.

I have a small lot in a subdivision and a wife who doesn't want ugly radio crap in plain site, and I think it would be better to not advertise that we have communications.

So i've been looking for an all band hf antenna that would not be hard to hide and provide acceptable performance.

I'm thinking of ordering a QSO-King in 120' length. My shack will be on the south end middle of my house, so the end feed will work well. It has good reviews and costs under a $100.

Anyone have an opinion on these or know of another system that would fit the bill?

Thanks

2. kellory

kellory An unemployed Jester, is nobody's fool. Banned

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 27, 2016
  3. Oddmar

Oddmar Monkey+

This would be my personal choice...

6-band Hexbeam, looks like an old-school circular clothes-line. Doesn't HAVE to be mounted up high to work well.
    KIO Technology
    You could probably use a tuner to get above 20M.
    Reviews on eHam. Hexbeam: by K4KIO Product Reviews

FT-857D mobile HF/VHF/UHF, 160 to 6 meter bands plus the 144 MHz and 430 MHz. Remote-mountable face.
    Yaesu FT-857D Amateur Transceiver FT857D
    Everyone says the multi-function buttons/ knobs and the menu are a PITA to work, so i'd run the rig with the free version of Ham Radio Deluxe on a laptop.

K4HLW | Ham Radio Deluxe

Ignore all the ham guys who insist you need 'X' 120VAC power supply...and instead, run the rig off a true deep-cycle trolling-motor battery, with a Schumacher battery charger recharging it. That way, WHEN the power grid goes down for who-knows-how-long, you'll be able to use your radio.