Put all your Faith “in God we trust” but Little Faith in Man

Discussion in 'Blogs' started by Seacowboys, Mar 18, 2011.

1. Seacowboys

Seacowboys Senior Member Founding Member

December 24, 2009 by seacowboys

I am fifty-three years old. Some days, I feel much older but most days, I still think that I am 17, and when I look into a mirror, I do not recognize the face that stares back at me. I still have the muscle memory of slam-dunking a basket ball, something that the ever increasing gravitational forces have prevented me from doing for several years now. Arthritis, the rheumatory type, often makes it difficult to trim my toe-nails or don a pair of socks but I still do not hesitate to put on a diving helmet and jump over the side of a boat and traverse to the bottom of the sea, where I often make my living. I work in the marine salvage industry. Until recently, I was a salvage master for a major player, until I lost my temper and punched one of the seamonkeys when he failed to relay accurate information and caused a blow-out on an underwater concrete repair at a container port down in the Bahamas. The new generation of commercial divers (I call them Seamonkeys) have not ingratiated themselves in my arsenal, I generally think they are a bunch of whining snot-nosed know-it-alls that used their parents hard-earned money to go to dive school so they could make the big bucks but don’t want to pay their dues to deserve them.

I am married to a darling woman of Southern heritage. She has a bit of a drinking problem that seems to run in her family but I do not mind, as long as she confines her drinking to a snoot full of wine in the evenings when I am home to look after her. Sometimes, I think the world is too big a place for her.